Skip to main content

Maple Grove Voice

Election 2016: Candidates File for Maple Grove City Council, ISD 279 School Board

Aug 16, 2016 09:17PM ● By Wendy Erlien
After a two week filing period in August, several community members filed an affidavit of candidacy to be put on the Nov. 8 general election ballot.

Two Maple Grove City Council seats are up for election in November. Each seat is a four-year term and begins Jan. 2, 2017. Individuals filing for candidacy, according to the Minnesota Secretary of State website are:
  • Kristy Barnett
  • Adam Bedard
  • Dave Brown
  • Jeffrey A. Drayton
  • Judith A. Hanson
  • Sherri Marie Johnson
Three ISD 279 - Osseo Area Schools School Board seats are up for election in November. Individuals filing for candidacy, according to the Minnesota Secretary of State website  are:
  • Pa Ann 
  • Meghan Curtis 
  • Heather Douglass
  • Linda J. Etim
  • Stephanie Fortner
  • Jacki L. Girtz
  • Mike Ostaffe
  • Carey Raph
  • Pachia Vue
  • Jesse Winkler
Find out more about the Maple Grove City Council and Osseo School District 279 School Board Candidates by clicking the link below. 
Hennepin County
Filing for candidacy for the District 7 Hennepin County Commissioner, according to the Minnesota Secretary of State website is Jeff Johnson and Wayne Pauluk.  In addition to Maple Grove, the District 7 Hennepin County Commissioner serves the cities of Champlin, Corcoran, Dayton, Greenfield, Hanover, Independence, Loretto, Maple Plain, Medina, Minnetrista, southern Mound, Rogers, St. Bonifacius, northwest Plymouth, and Rockford.

The Hennepin Park Commissioner District 2 Representative seat (representing Maple Grove, Dayton, Champlin, Osseo, Brooklyn Park) is not up for election in 2016.

Candidates for Minnesota House 34A, Minnesota House 34B, Minnesota Senate 34, and U.S. State Representative District 3 has already been determined. 

According to the MinnesotaSecretary of State website, the following individuals are candidates:
Minnesota House 34A (portion of Maple Grove, Rogers, Dayton)
  • Dave Craig (Democratic-Farmer-Labor)
  • Joyce Peppin (Republican)         
Minnesota House 34B (portion of Maple Grove, Osseo)
  • Kristin Bahner (Democratic-Farmer-Labor)
  • Dennis Smith (Republican)         
Minnesota Senate 34 (Maple Grove, Rogers, Dayton, Osseo)
  • Warren Limmer (Republican)
  • Bonnie Westlin (Democratic-Farmer-Labor) 
U.S. State Representative District 3 
  • Terri E. Bonoff (Democratic-Farmer-Labor) 
  • Erik Paulsen (Republican)
Additional information
Maple Grove Election Calendar:

Like what you're reading? Subscribe to the Maple Grove Voice free newsletter to catch every headline