Skip to main content

Maple Grove Voice

Seven Osseo Area Schools Educators Named 2018 Teacher of the Year Candidates

Feb 06, 2018 09:37PM ● By Wendy Erlien

File photo: Osseo Area Schools/ISD 279 Educational Service Center (photo by Wendy Erlien)

Seven teachers in the Osseo School District have been named as 2018 Minnesota Teacher of the Year candidates.

"This year’s program will name the 54th Minnesota Teacher of the Year, celebrating the tradition of excellence in teaching in Minnesota," according to Education Minnesota. "Candidates include pre-kindergarten through 12th-grade and Adult Basic Education teachers, from public or private schools."
The candidates from the ISD 279 - Osseo Area Schools are (pictured, starting top - left to right): 
Debra Amelse - Basswood Elementary instructional assistant 

Jessica Carr - Fernbrook Elementary first-grade teacher 

Rich Johnston - Osseo Middle School sixth-grade teacher 

Ann Kozarek- Edinbrook Elementary physical education teacher 

Jaquinetta Mitchell - Osseo Senior High English teacher 

Jennifer Paulson - Woodland Elementary second-grade teacher

Lisa Thompson - Basswookd Elementary fifth-grade teacher

The 2018 Minnesota Teacher of the Year will be announced May 6 from a field of 167 candidates.

Photo provided by Osseo Area Schools. 

Like what you're reading? Subscribe to the Maple Grove Voice free newsletter to catch every headline