Skip to main content

Maple Grove Voice

Two Osseo Area Schools Educators Named 2018 Teacher of the Year Semifinalists

Feb 28, 2018 06:34AM ● By Wendy Erlien

File photo: Osseo Area Schools/ISD 279 Educational Service Center (photo by Wendy Erlien)

Two teachers in the ISD 279 - Osseo Area Schools have been named as 2018 Minnesota Teacher of the Year semifinalists.

Osseo Senior High English teacher Jaquinetta Mitchell and Basswood Elementary fifth grade teacher Lisa Thompson were selected to be among the 43 semifinalist candidates statewide. 

In late March, it is anticipated a panel of community leaders will select about 10 finalists from the 43 semifinalist candidates. The new Teacher of the Year will be announced in May. 

The panel will review the semifinalists’ portfolios again in late March and will select about 10 finalists from among the group. The current Minnesota Teacher of the Year, Corey Bulman, will announce his successor at a banquet May 6 at the Radisson Blu Mall of America in Bloomington. 

Education Minnesota, the statewide educators union, organizes and underwrites the Teacher of the Year program. Candidates include pre-kindergarten through 12th-grade and Adult Basic Education teachers, from public or private schools.  

Like what you're reading? Subscribe to the Maple Grove Voice free newsletter to catch every headline